Essence Of
Varaha Purana


17    Reverence to ‘Dasa Dishas’ (Ten Directions) on ‘Dashami’
Concerned about the population of the Universe and their mind-set of Directions so that orderliness should prevail to let them realise where they were, Lord Brahma devised a Plan. He created from His ears Six Devis viz. Purvi, Dakshina, Prathichi, Uttara, Urdhva, and Adhara- East, South,West, North, Above and Below respectively. The four other Devis thus created viz. Shobhaniya, Rupavati, Maha Bhagya Shalini and Gambhira Yukta represented the intermittent Four ‘Directions’. These virgins who were created requested Lord Brahma to name Lokpals also who would be the male counterparts and Brahma named them too viz. Indra, Agni, Yama, Nirruti, Varun, Vayu, Kubera and Eshana; Brahma Himself agreed to man Urdhva and the remaining Tenth Dasha (Direction) was spare. The Devi-Lokanayak equation was determined by Brahma. He also selected Dashami to observe the day for penance and eat only ‘Dahi’ or curd to protect human beings from movement of Grahas, changes of ‘Ayanas’or Solar Progress and transformations of ‘Ritus’ or Seasons and astrological and astronomical aberrations.

Prev:Devi Durga’s carnage of Vetrasur and Her ‘puja’ on Navami (Durga Stuti included)

Quick Jump: