Essence Of Skanda Purana


Ashtottara Namavali of Kartikeya and Phala Sruti

Sage Viswamitra recited the following Ashtottara Namavali (108 names) about Skanda Deva on the most significant day of Kartika Pournami of which Kartikaya is fond of:
(1)Brahmavaadi (Profounder of Parama Tatvas)
(2) Brahma (Creator and the Reciter of Vedas)
(3) Brahma Vid (The Exponent and Interpreter of Brahma Gyan)
(4) Brahma Vatsala (The beloved of Lord Brahma)

(5) Brahmanya ( Brahmana Bhakta)
(6) Brahmadeva
(7)Brahmad ( The Donor of Brahma Gyan)
(8) Brahma Sangrah (The absorber of Vedardha or the Para Brahma’s reality)
(9) Sarvotkrushta Parama Teja (The Highest of All of Super Luminosity)
(10) Mangala Mangala (The Most Propitious of the Propitious)
(11) Aprameya Guna ( He who has countless qualities)
(12) Mantra Mantraga (The Quintessence of Mantras)
(13) Savitrimaya (Full of Pranava or Omkara)
(14) Sarvatra Aparajita ( Always unconquerable)
(15) Sarvatmika Mantra (The universally applicable Mantra)
(16)Deva (Replete with Divinity)
(17) Shadakshara Vatam Vara (The best reciter of Om Namassivaya)
(18) Gava Putra (The Illustrious Son of Cow or Ganges)
(19) Surarighna (The Destroyer of the Enemies of Devas)
(20) Sambhava (He who makes the Impossible possible)
(21) Bhava bhaavana (The Creator of the Universe in the form of Brahma)
(22) Pinakini ( The Carrier of Pinakini Dhanush in the form of Shankara)
(23) Shatruha (The Terminator of Opponents)
(24) Swetha ( He assumes the form of a white Mountain or Himalaya)
(25) Guudha (Born in a hidden place or He who has latent Shakti)
(26) Skanda (He who jumps while walking)
(27) Suraagrani (The Chief of Suras)
(28) Dwaadasha (Who has twelve eyes and ears)
(29) Bhu (Bhu mandala Swarupa or the Form of Earth)
(30)Bhuvah ( Antariksha Rupa or Of the form of Sky)
(31) Bhavi (Bhavitva Rupa )
(32) Bhuva Putra (Bhumi Putra as Siva’s manliness was absorbed into Earth)
(33) Namaskruth (Saluted by one and all)
(34) Nagaraja (The King of Serpents)
(35) Sudharmatma (Epitome of Virtue)
(36) Naka Prushtha (He is the Base of Swarga as He is the Saviour of Devas)
(37) Sanatan (He is Eternal)
(38) Hema garbha (Born of Siva’s gold-like semen)
(39) Mahagarbha (Born of several mothers)
(40) Jaya (Victorious)
(41) Vijayeswara (The Deity of Victory)
(42) Karta (The Performer)
(43)Vidhata (The Preserver)
(44) Nithya (Everlasting)
(45) Nithyarimardana (The constant destroyer of enemies)
(46) Mahasena (The Chief of a huge army)
(47) Maha Teja (The most Illuminated)
(48) Virasena (Commander of a Valiant army)
(49) Chamupati (The Leader of Militia)
(50) Surasena (The Principal of an intrepid band of soldiers)
(51)Suradhaksha (The Supreme Head of Devas)
(52) Bhimasena (The Chief of a terrifying military)
(53) Niramaya (Devoid of illness)
(54) Shouri (The most gallant Son of Shankara)
(55) Patu (Smart and Enterprising)
(56) Maha Teja (The highly radiant)
(57) Viryavan (Personification of Might)
(58) Satya Vikram (Courageously Truthful)
(59) Tejogarbha (Agni Putra)
(60) Asuripu (Antagonist of Demons)
(61) Suramurthi (A byword for Devas)
(62) Surojit (More gutsy than Devas)
(63) Krutajna (Grateful to those who stand by Him)
(64) Varada (Bestower of windfalls)
(65) Satya (Satyavadi or He who stands for Truth)
(66) Sharanya (Protector of those who seek refuge)
(67) Sadhu Vatsal (Affectionate and kind to the Good)
(68) Suvratha (Benefactor of those who perform good Vrathas)
(69) Surya Sankash (Luminous like Sun)
(70) Vahnigarbha (Begotten of Agni)
(71) Ranotsuk (Enthusiastic of Battles)
(72) Pippali (Consumer of Pippali)
(73) Seeghraga (Travels at top speed)
(74) Roudri ( Son of Rudra)
(75) Gangeya (Son of Ganges)
(76) Ripudarun (Demolisher of Foes)
 (77) Kartikeya (Son of Krittikas)
(78) Prabhu (Highly accomplished)
(79) Kshanth (Forgiving and Patient)
(80) Neela-damshtra (Blue Thoated)
(81) Mahamana (of large heart disposition)
(82) Nigrah(Possessive of Restraint)
(83) Netha (Leader)
(84) Suranandana (Provider of happiness to Devas)
(85) Pragrah (Controller of Enemies)
(86) Paramananda (Extremely blissful)
(87)Krodhagna (Alleviates the anger of Devotees)
(88) Tar (Producer of heavy sound)
(89)Vucchrit (High stamper of feet)
(90) Kukkuti (Keeper of Cock as chariot flag)
(91) Bahuli (Possessor of many useful implements)
(92) Divya (Has Divine illumination)
(93)Kamad (Fulfilled of desires)
     (94) Bhurivardhan (Has extreme amusement)
     (95) Amogh (Unconquerable and ever successful)
     (96) Amritada (Endower of Amrit)
     (97) Agni (Agni Swarup)
     (98) Shatrughna (Terminator of Opponents)
     (99) Sarvabodhan (Provider of Knowledge to one and all)
     (100) Anagha (Devoid of sins)
     (101) Amar (indestructible)
    (102) Sriman (Highly Prosperous)
    (103) Unnati (High Profiled)
    (104) Agni Sambhava
    (105) Piscacha Raja (King of Piscachas and Siva Ganas)
    (106)Suryabha (Akin to Sun God in radiance)
    (107) Sivatma (Siva Swarupa) and
    (108) Sanatana (Eternal).
Phalasruti: Those who recite the Ashtottara of Kartikeya become fearless, contented, and happy; a pregnant woman reads or hears the Ashtottara would be blessed with a son of virtue and fortune; and if unmarried girls read they are sure to secure ideal husbands.

Skanda Purana Home Peacock Next: Significance of Daan (Charity)-Its Profile and Fruits

Back to the News Page