Essence Of
Bhavishya Purana


2    Creation and Concept of Time
At the beginning of Creation, there was darkness all around and the Supreme Energy created ‘Maha Jal’ (the Great Water) first. ‘Parabrahma’had his resting place (Ayana) in the water (Naara) and materialised Maya or Prakriti and as a result of the interaction, there was a Golden Egg out of which emerged Brahma. After persistent ‘Tapasya’ (meditation), Brahma created ‘Bhumi’(Earth) from one part of the Egg and ‘Akash’ (Sky) from another; from the middle portion of the Egg was created ‘Swarga’ or the Celestial Region, Eight Directions, ‘Samudra’ or the Great Ocean, the ‘Maha Tatvas’(Great Awareness or Consciousness of Elements) and the ‘Charachara Srishti’ or the Moveable and Non-moving Beings. After creating the Sky, he created Vayu (Air), Agni (Fire), Jal (water) and Prithvi. Brahma prescribed the names and tasks of each Institution or Entity.He created Devas and their ‘Ganas’ (troupes), the Yagnas like Jyothistomas; Grahas (Planets), Nakshatras (Stars), Nadis (Rivers), Samudras (Seas), Parvatas (Mountains), Concept of Time like Samvarsaras (Years), Masas (Months), Dinas (days), and Ritus ( Seasons). He created ‘Shadvargas’viz. Kama (Desire), Krodha (Anger), Lobha (Greed), Moha (Infatuation), Mada (Ego) and Matsara (Jealousy); Dharma (Virtue), Adharma (Vice), Sukha (Happiness) and Duhkha (Grief) etc. Brahma created Brahmanas from his face, Kshatriyas from his hands, Vaishyas from thighs and others from his feet. He created Rig Veda from his Eastern Face which was received byVasistha Muni; Yajur Veda from his Southern Head as secured by Yagnyavalkya Muni, Sama Veda from the Western Head achieved by Gautama Muni, Atharva Veda from the Northern Face obtained by Shaunaka Muni, and from his Upturned Face emerged Eighteen Puranas, Itihasas and Shastras. He divided his body on the right side to generate males and the left side to create women. He materialised a Virat Purusha or a Gigantic Male who performed Tapasya for long time to create Ten Prajapatis viz. Narada, Bhrugu, Vasishtha, Pracheta, Pulaha, Kratu, Pulastya, Atri, Angirasa and Marichi as also a number of Secondary Rishis. The he created Devatas, Munis, Daityas, Rakshasas, Piscachas, Gandharvas, Apsaras, Pitras, Human Beings, Nagas, Serpents, and so on and set them all in their positions. Lightnings, Clouds, Rainbows, Dhumaketus, Ulkas, Thunders, Fishes, Animals, Birds, and moveable and non moveable objects. Eversince ‘Srishti’ or Creation commenced, Brahma’s one day lasts till the end of a ‘Kalpa’ and at the end of his one day comes a ‘Pralaya’(The Great Annihilation); Srishti is resumed by the next morning again. It is said that one ‘Truti’ makes one Nimesha, eighteen nimeshas a Kashtha, thirty kashthas one Kala, thirty kalas one Kshana, twelve kshanas one Muhurta, thirty muhurtas make a day and night, thirty day-nights make one month, two months one Ritu, three Ritus one Ayana, and two Ayanas a year. One day-night of Pitras equals one month of human beings; in other words, Shukla Paksha or a fortnight of humans makes a day for Pitras and Krishna Paksha a night. Satya Yuga comprises 4,800 Divya years or 17, 28,000 solar years; Treta Yuga comprises 3,600 Divya years or 12, 96,000 solar Years; Dwapara Yuga comprises 2,400 Divya years or 8, 64,000 solar years and Kali Yuga comprises 1,200 Divya years or 43,200 solar years; thus one Chatur Yuga or Maha Yuga adds up to 32000 Divya years or 43, 20, 000 solar years. One thousand years of Devas equals one day of Brahma and another thousand Divya years make Brahma’s night; 12,000 Divya years make one Divya Yuga and 170 Maha Yugas make one Manvantara, while fourteen Manvantaras make one Brahma day.

Prev:Preface of the Purana

Quick Jump: